close
test_template

A Personal Opinion on Barack Obama Being The Best President in American History

download print

About this sample

About this sample

close

Words: 749 |

Page: 1|

4 min read

Published: Aug 10, 2018

Words: 749|Page: 1|4 min read

Published: Aug 10, 2018

Table of contents

  1. President Barack Obama's Legacy
  2. Breaking Barriers and Advancing Equality
    National Security
    Championing Equal Rights
    The Pursuit of Healthcare Reform
    Integrity in Leadership
  3. Conclusion
  4. Works Cited

As a first-grader in the United States, I witnessed the historic election of Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States. In the days leading up to his Inauguration, my parents were brimming with excitement. As my mom gently brushed my hair, my curiosity got the best of me, and I asked, "What's all the fuss about?" Her response resonates with me to this day: "We are witnessing history." To me, Barack Obama was not just an inspirational figure but, in my eyes, the greatest President in American history.

'Why Violent Video Games Shouldn't Be Banned'?

President Barack Obama's Legacy

Breaking Barriers and Advancing Equality

One of the most prominent aspects of President Obama's legacy is his historic election as the first black president of the United States. At the time, my fellow classmates and I may not have fully grasped the magnitude of this achievement. However, in retrospect, considering the nation's history, it becomes clear that this was a monumental milestone. Less than 50 years before Obama's election, the Civil Rights Movement was in full swing, and the United States had a legacy of slavery. During his presidency, President Obama made significant strides in promoting diversity and inclusion. Among his notable achievements, he appointed a higher percentage of women and minorities to Senate-confirmed policy positions compared to his predecessor, George W. Bush.

National Security

President Obama's leadership included a landmark moment in the fight against terrorism. During his tenure, the mastermind behind the 9/11 attacks, Osama Bin Laden, was captured and killed. This achievement alone elevates his presidency to a place of significance in American history. The 9/11 attacks were the deadliest terrorist act in U.S. history and had far-reaching consequences for national policies and politics.

Championing Equal Rights

June 27, 2015, marked a historic day in America when same-sex marriage was legalized nationwide. This decision invalidated discriminatory laws in 14 states that prohibited same-sex marriage, granting equal rights to the LGBT+ community. President Obama's response to this ruling resonates with me to this day: "When all Americans are treated as equal, we are all more free." This sentiment should continue to guide our nation, as it underscores the importance of diversity in making America truly great.

The Pursuit of Healthcare Reform

While controversial, President Obama's efforts to establish nationwide healthcare through the Affordable Care Act were a significant step toward ensuring that all Americans have access to healthcare. Despite opposition that cited its impact on businesses, studies showed a 9% increase in jobs within the healthcare sector. The pursuit of universal healthcare, while not without its flaws, represented a crucial stride in the right direction.

Integrity in Leadership

No leader is infallible, including the President of the United States. What distinguishes a great leader is the willingness to acknowledge mistakes and take corrective actions. President Obama demonstrated this quality during his tenure. He faced numerous challenges, including threats on his life, effigy burnings, and baseless claims questioning his citizenship. Through it all, he maintained a calm and composed demeanor, displaying remarkable patience and resilience.

Get a custom paper now from our expert writers.

Conclusion

President Barack Obama's legacy is one of progress, equality, and resilience. As the first black president, he shattered barriers and paved the way for a more diverse and inclusive political landscape. His accomplishments, such as eliminating Osama Bin Laden and advocating for equal rights, have left an indelible mark on American history. While his pursuit of nationwide healthcare faced opposition, it represented a significant step toward ensuring healthcare access for all. Moreover, his integrity in the face of adversity serves as a testament to his leadership. As we reflect on his presidency, we do so with admiration and respect for the transformative impact he had on our nation.

Works Cited

  1. BBC. (2015). US Supreme Court backs gay marriage. Retrieved from https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-33290341
  2. Dionne, E. J. (2017). The Obama years: A president in a time of crisis. W. W. Norton & Company.
  3. Eilperin, J. (2017). Obama Appointees Focused on Advancing Female and Minority Lawyers. The Washington Post. Retrieved from https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/obama-appointees-focused-on-advancing-female-and-minority-lawyers/2017/08/14/0fae3582-82f2-11e7-ab27-1a21a8e006ab_story.html
  4. Hunt, K. (2017). Equality and Discrimination: The Unexpected Impact of the Affordable Care Act. American Journal of Public Health, 107(6), 870-871.
  5. Obama, B. (2014). Remarks by the President on the Supreme Court Decision on Marriage Equality. Retrieved from https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/the-press-office/2015/06/26/remarks-president-supreme-court-decision-marriage-equality
  6. Peterson, D. (2019). Obama's Health-Care Law Was a Jobs-Killer After All. National Review.
  7. Skocpol, T., & Jacobs, L. R. (2013). Obamacare and the Tea Party: Ideological purity meets practical politics. Oxford University Press.
  8. The White House. (2011). Statement by the President on Osama bin Laden.
  9. Timmerman, M. (2019). Barack Obama's Historic Presidency: A Timeline. ABC-CLIO.
  10. Troy, G. (2017). The Age of Obama: The Presidency and the Power of Words. Bloomsbury Publishing.
Image of Dr. Oliver Johnson
This essay was reviewed by
Dr. Oliver Johnson

Cite this Essay

A Personal Opinion on Barack Obama Being the Best President in American History. (2018, July 12). GradesFixer. Retrieved July 22, 2024, from https://gradesfixer.com/free-essay-examples/a-personal-opinion-on-barack-obama-being-the-best-president-in-american-history/
“A Personal Opinion on Barack Obama Being the Best President in American History.” GradesFixer, 12 Jul. 2018, gradesfixer.com/free-essay-examples/a-personal-opinion-on-barack-obama-being-the-best-president-in-american-history/
A Personal Opinion on Barack Obama Being the Best President in American History. [online]. Available at: <https://gradesfixer.com/free-essay-examples/a-personal-opinion-on-barack-obama-being-the-best-president-in-american-history/> [Accessed 22 Jul. 2024].
A Personal Opinion on Barack Obama Being the Best President in American History [Internet]. GradesFixer. 2018 Jul 12 [cited 2024 Jul 22]. Available from: https://gradesfixer.com/free-essay-examples/a-personal-opinion-on-barack-obama-being-the-best-president-in-american-history/
copy
Keep in mind: This sample was shared by another student.
  • 450+ experts on 30 subjects ready to help
  • Custom essay delivered in as few as 3 hours
Write my essay

Still can’t find what you need?

Browse our vast selection of original essay samples, each expertly formatted and styled

close

Where do you want us to send this sample?

    By clicking “Continue”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy.

    close

    Be careful. This essay is not unique

    This essay was donated by a student and is likely to have been used and submitted before

    Download this Sample

    Free samples may contain mistakes and not unique parts

    close

    Sorry, we could not paraphrase this essay. Our professional writers can rewrite it and get you a unique paper.

    close

    Thanks!

    Please check your inbox.

    We can write you a custom essay that will follow your exact instructions and meet the deadlines. Let's fix your grades together!

    clock-banner-side

    Get Your
    Personalized Essay in 3 Hours or Less!

    exit-popup-close
    We can help you get a better grade and deliver your task on time!
    • Instructions Followed To The Letter
    • Deadlines Met At Every Stage
    • Unique And Plagiarism Free
    Order your paper now