How Many Chapters Are In Frankenstein?

Updated 8 November, 2023
In the original 1818 edition of “Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus” by Mary Shelley there are 23 chapters.
Detailed answer:

Mary Shelley's Frankenstein has been published numerous times. The first edition in 1818 was then republished in 1823. A revised edition was then published in 1831. It has been in print ever since it was first published, with additional editions published in a variety of formats.
In the original edition of the book there were 23 chapters. This version was released in three different languages. However, now the 1831 edition is considered the main one. The most apparent change is the development of the first chapter. The introduction is made larger and split in two, making the book 24 chapters long.
In the updated version, Shelley explained why she wrote the book and split the first part. It has more chapters than the original one. In such a way, the readers could understand the author’s intent better. The three volumes explained Walton’s, Frankenstein’s, and the monster’s points of view.

Do you have any other questions?
Question has been sent. We'll take a look at it in 1 day Ask another question

Where do you want us to send this sample?

    By clicking “Continue”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy.


    Be careful. This essay is not unique

    This essay was donated by a student and is likely to have been used and submitted before

    Download this Sample

    Free samples may contain mistakes and not unique parts


    Sorry, we could not paraphrase this essay. Our professional writers can rewrite it and get you a unique paper.



    Please check your inbox.

    We can write you a custom essay that will follow your exact instructions and meet the deadlines. Let's fix your grades together!


    We can help you get a better grade and deliver your task on time!

    • Instructions Followed To The Letter
    • Deadlines Met At Every Stage
    • Unique And Plagiarism Free
    Order your paper now